AUSTRALIA’S richest woman, Gina Rinehart, has slammed Julia Gillard’s carbon tax.

As much as Big Tobacco’s multimillion dollar campaign against plain packaging convinces me that plain packaging will reduce smoking levels in Australia (if there’s no threat, why fight it?). Gina Rinehart’s protests against the carbon tax and the Resources Rent Tax (the infamous mining tax) convince me that they too will probably achieve their desired goal. Mind you, I don’t necessarily believe that their desired goal is to reduce pollution. Ultimately their aim (in my not so humble opinion) is to make certain industries SLIGHTLY less profitable and as a side effect they should theoretically reduce pollution.

According to Gina, “”For the cost of building this trial mine alone, I could have bought myself a beautiful new private jet,”

“But … who would be paying the wages of these contractors if I had spent that on a luxurious private jet and two pilots instead?

One point before I get into the meat of the argument… thanks Gina Rinehart for reminding all of us who CAN’T afford a private jet exactly how rich you are. How wonderful it must be to have the problem of deciding between a new luxurious private jet and a trial mine.

On to the main part of my argument…. Gina, I’m sure that the ONLY reason that you’ve decided to open that trial mine that you refer to so fondly, is to altruistically support the Australian community and provide jobs. It would have nothing to do with the amount of potential profit from your mine, I’m sure. It’s gratifying to know that you have all of our best interests at heart and I hope these evil taxes won’t affect your bottom line too much. With only $10.3 Billion in total estimated wealth( http://www.smartcompany.com.au/wealth/20110525-gina-rinehart-tops-australian-rich-list-with-10-3-billion-fortune.html ), it must be hard for you.

As a rough estimate, you have approximately $490 for every Australian citizen. I consider myself reasonably well off and you could pay me to work for you at my current salary for just over 2 days with that $490. Alternatively, if you paid me and only me my current salary and somehow earned no more money in the meantime you could keep me employed for a staggering 171,000 years.

Yet you’re complaining about what these taxes are going to cost you. Somehow, I lack sympathy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

